2018 Wiltshire Athletics Awards Evening

Wiltshire Athletic Association hosted the 2018 Wiltshire Athletics Awards at Doric Park in Trowbridge. The event which was sponsored by Wiltshire and Swindon Sport (WASP) recognised the best athletes in the county and those that make athletics happen in Wiltshire.

The first award presented was for the Senior Male athlete of the year and was awarded for the second year to Tom Gale of Team Bath with Simon Nott of Calne Running Club and Aaron Wilson from City of Salisbury A&RC both Highly Commended. The Senior Female athlete of the year was awarded to 2017 Bath Half Marathon winner Ruth Barnes of Avon Valley Runners with Caitlin Wosika and Zoe Mattocks both of Team Bath AC being highly commended.

The award for Young Male Athlete of the year was awarded to Thomas Holmes of Marlborough & District following a great season throwing the javelin. Niall Thorne of Avon Valley Runners and Ransford Ako’Nai of Team Bath AC were both Highly Commended. The Young Female Athlete of the year was awarded to Beatrice Wood from City of Salisbury A&RC with Freya Buglass of Avon Valley Runners and Delleah Belgrave of Swindon Harriers both highly vommended.

The award for the Male Veteran Athlete of the year went to Heath Bampton of Royal Wootton Bassett Hounds with Ultra-distance runner Damian Hall of Corsham Running Club and Simon Gilbert of Devizes Running Club both being Highly Commended. The Female Veteran athlete of the year went to Calne Running Club’s Denise Nott with the Avon Valley Runners pair of Anna-Marie Watson and Diane Hier both being highly commended.

The Coach of the year award went to Di Viles of Team Bath AC with Bryan Clinton of Swindon Harriers and Denise Nott of Calne Running Club being highly commended. Official of the year went to Graham Mattacks of Team Bath with club mate Steve Hutchinson and City of Salisbury’s Andy Angell both highly commended for their work.

Unsung Hero of the year was awarded to Sean Price of Avon Valley Runners Rich Keyzor of Shrewton Running Club and John Webster of Team Bath both highly commended.

The Club initiative of the year award was presented to recognise an initiative setup by a club to improve athletics in the area went to Avon Valley Runners for the realisation of their two year project to build a running track in Trowbridge. Calne SMaRTT introduced an interesting initiative to allow members to win back their entry fees whilst Corsham Running Club had a popular Beginners Course.

The Race of the year was presented to the Race Director of the Tri-County XC Championships which despite the adverse weather conditions delivered a memorable event. The Roundway Revenge trail run hosted by Devizes Running Club and the SMaRTT Smasher at Calne were both recognised as highly commended.

The event showed that athletics is thriving well in Wiltshire and that we are producing a good number of athletes that are able to hold their own on a regional, national and for some an international level. Behind these athletes is a good community of coaches, officials and volunteers enabling the sport to progress in the county.

Details of the winners are on the awards page.