Wiltshire 10K Championships

Two hundred runners lined up at Castle Combe race circuit for the Wiltshire county championship 10K road race organised by DB Max. Simon Nott of Calne Running Club led from the gun to improve on his silver medal in last years 10K championships to record a winning time of 32:35 over a minute ahead of Michael Towler of Avon Valley Runners and Matthew Withey of Stroud AC, in fourth place Sam Hull of Chippenham Harriers claimed the bronze county medal.

In the ladies race Jenny Jagger of Bristol & West AC was first across the line in 35:34, but it was second placed Ruth Barnes of Avon Valley Runners who claimed the county title for the second year recording a personal best time of 36:28 for the distance. Michelle Leighton of Royal Wootton Basset Hounds took the county silver medal and Jill Westwood of Avon Valley Runners the bronze.

The race also played host to the Wiltshire Race League it was Avon Valley Runners who again took maximum points ahead of Chippenham Harriers and keep their unbeaten run going in the 2013 season.

The next race in the Wiltshire Race League is the Foxtrot 5 being held at Broughton Gifford on Sunday 25th August. Wiltshire Road Race League tables can be found here.

Wiltshire Race League tables can be found here.