Wiltshire Road Race League #12

The Calne Clock Change Challenge 10K played host to the final event in the 2014 Wiltshire Road Race League which saw the third successive League title go back to Trowbridge with Avon Valley Runners. The race which attracted close to 300 runners saw Patrick Martin of Stockport take overall victory in 30:27 with second placed Simon Nott of Calne Running Club the first Wiltshire athlete some 90-seconds adrift, with Michael Towler of Avon Valley Runners in third. In fifth place, Gary Dunstone of Chippenham Harriers continued his good run of form and became the top individual scorer in the League ahead of Rich Ayling and Mike Rose, both of Avon Valley Runners.

In the Ladies Race, Fiona Price of Avon Valley Runners took victory clocking 40:37 ahead of Sue Hall from Corsham and club mate Anita Mellodew in third. In fifth place, Kate Wilkins of Devizes Running Club became the highest scorer in the League and saw her club win the Second Division title and along with Calne Running Club gain promotion to the First Division. With four club this season being relegated, slipping down to the Second Division though are Corsham Running Club, Swindon Striders, Wootton Bassett Hounds and Highworth Running Club.

League awards were presented to the best performers in the 2014 Wiltshire Road Race League sponsored by Newsquest, with Gary Dunstone (Chippenham Harriers), Rich Ayling (Avon Valley Runners), Mike Rose (Avon Valley Runners), Pete Veleski (Avon Valley Runners), Kate Wilkins (Devizes Running Club) and Juliet Coulson (Avon Valley Runners) all making the Gold standard.

Final League standings and individual scorers can be found here.